I hate cliché Christian slogans. “1 Cross + 3 Nails=4given”. Ugh, corny alert! “My God is a Jewish carpenter.” Really? If you’re referring to Jesus that doesn’t quite cut it. But there is one phrase I find myself using quite often, “We serve a big God.” I always assume people know what I mean by that, but I thought I would share some thoughts on that statement. In Matthew 28:18-20, the climax of the entire gospel, Jesus says, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.”

That’s a big statement to make, but Scripture backs him up. Our view of God is utterly too small. The “God is my buddy” theology that most of us carry around just doesn’t cut it, and honestly, does thinking of God as just another buddy make you feel better? I don’t need another buddy, I need a God who is omnipotent, omniscient, and omnipresent. (Omni means “all”). Scriptures claim that God is the overseer of the entire cosmos from Big Bang to the Big Shrink. Next time you start to feel like you serve an impotent God, remember that you’re talking about the one who put the entire cosmos into motion and makes blood flow from your heart to your brain which fires synapses which give off neurological commands that make you breath, this isn’t a small feat by a small God, this is everything and it comes from a Big God.

